Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2013

Posted by & filed under .

Dr. Samir K. Bramhachari, Director General Council for Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) today announced the prestigious Shantri Swarup Bhatnagar Awards for the Year 2013. The awards were announced during the CSIR’s 71st Foundation day Celebrations held here in New Delhi. According to it, eight (08) scientists have been selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology for the year 2013. They are as under:

Biological Science
Dr Sathees Chukkurumbal Raghavan
Department of Biochemistry
Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Chemcial Sciences
Dr Yamuna Krishnan
National Centre for Biological Sciences
(TIFR) UAS-GKVK, Bellary Road

Engineering Sciences
Dr Bikramjit Basu
Materials Research Centre
Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Dr Suman Chakraborty
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology (IITKgp)

Mathematical Sciences
Dr Eknath Prabhakar Ghate
School of Mathematical Sciences
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
(TIFR) Homi Bhabha Road, Colaba

Medical Sciences
Dr Pushkar Sharma
National Institute of Immunology (NII)
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi

Physical Sciences
Dr Amol Dighe
Department of Theoretical Physics
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)
Homi Bhabha Road, Colaba, Mumbai

Dr Vijay Balakrishna Shenoy
Department of Physics
Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize is the most coveted national recognition for young scientists and engineers for their R&D work done in India. The Prize was instituted in 1957 in the honour of late Dr. (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, an eminent scientist, founder Director and principal architect of CSIR. Over 450 scientists and technologists have been so far conferred upon this Prize in various disciplines of science for their outstanding R&D contribution. Each Prize carries a citation, cash prize, a plaque and an honorarium till superannuation.